lines written in Hamburg on 7th July 2017

I tried to write a poem today
but burning spires got in the way
of all the thoughts I tried to play
so I doubt I’ll write a poem today

I want to sing a song today
before the statesmen had their say
but now their dogma’s had its way
and I cannot sing a song today

I’d like to make a wish today
but a wish is doomed to go the way
of forgotten dreams from yesterday
alas I’ll make no wish today

It seems today is not the day
for wishes, songs and poems…..anyway

Leave a Reply

